How the new permit to enter 30 European countries works for visa-exempt travelers



Important things to keep in mind about ETIAS

  • From spring 2025, citizens of more than 60 countries will have to apply for the ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorization System) travel permit to be able to enter any of the countries in the Schengen zone.
  • ETIAS will be valid for a period of three years unless your passport expires earlier, in which case the ETIAS will also expire and you will have to apply for a new ETIAS with the new passport.
  • According to the European Commission, it is expected that 97% of ETIAS applications will be resolved automatically, while in certain specific cases, it may take several hours or even a day.
  • The price of the ETIAS will be approximately 7 Euros for applicants between 18 and 70 years old.
  • ETIAS is not a visa, so an appointment and getting a stamp on your passport are not required.
  • With the ETIAS permit, you can stay in the Schengen area for up to 90 days in a period of 180 days.
  • ETIAS does not allow you to study or work for an extended period. For extended stays, you will need to apply for a Visa at the Embassy of the corresponding country.
  • Although the validity of ETIAs is 3 years, the stay cannot exceed 90 days from entering the Schengen territory.
  • The ETIAS can be renewed 120 days before the expiration date of the current permit.
  • Minors must also apply for ETIAS; parents or guardians must apply for it.

Requirements to apply for ETIAS

  • Passport valid for at least 3 months after the end date of the trip.
  • A digital photograph.
  • Email (where you will receive authorization).
  • Debit or credit card for the ETIAS.
  • Fill out the ETIAS form online, which will take no more than 15 minutes.

Details to fill out the ETIAS application form

  • Name and surname of the applicant as they appear in the passport.
  • Date of birth.
  • Place of birth.
  • Current postal address.
  • Passport number.
  • Passport expiration date.
  • Country of issue of the passport.
  • Name and surname of the applicant’s parents.
  • Email address.
  • Phone number in international format.
  • Level of education.
  • Occupancy at the time of application.
  • Trip details.
  • Accommodation details.
  • Details about criminal offenses.
  • Details about travel to conflict or war zones.

During the ETIAS application, providing erroneous or false information could result in denial of permission and a ban from entering Schengen zone countries.

List of countries that will have to apply for ETIAS to travel to the Schengen Area from 2025

Albania, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, The Bahamas, Barbados, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Georgia, Grenada, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong SAR), Israel, Japan, Kiribati, Kuwait, Macau (SAR), Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Nauru, New Zealand, Nicaragua, North Macedonia, Oman, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Qatar, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Seychelles, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Taiwan, East Timor, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, United Arab Emirates, United States, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Venezuela.

List of countries that are part of the Schengen area

Germany, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Denmark, Slovenia, Spain, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Czech Republic, Slovak Republic, Sweden and Switzerland.